Off the wagon

April 13, 2008 at 7:25 am 5 comments

Buy Nothing Challenge - April 2008

 

  

Forgive me readers for I have sinned. I’ve flunked the challenge – big time.

 

Earlier in the week all was going well. I was feeling virtuous. I had bought some pants and some tops for Munchkin, but they were second hand and absolutely necessary given the change in weather. I was looking forward to reporting in today with a clean conscience.

 

But then I saw this beautiful Happy Birthday Banner at Waldorf Mama.

 

Banner

photocredit: waldorfmama.blogspot.com 

 

And then I decided I had to order one. Given the shipping delay, Bluebird Baby’s waiting list and the fact that the NZ/US exchange rate is at an all time high I decided to throw the challenge aside and order one. Its not necessary. Its going to come all the way from the US. But its so so beautiful and will become a family treasure I know.

 

And then the home phone broke.  I work from home, I need a phone. And – despite my own personal mission not to buy anything made in China (unless its second hand) – it seemed impossible to buy a phone not made in China. And second hand phones take too long to get.

 

And then an online friend said she had sourced some great fabric and was making little girls trousers if anyone was interested. I was. I ordered two. I was out of good excuses here – they were cute. I love WAHM made stuff. I was only going to buy them on May 1.

 

So I think I’m officially ‘off the wagon’.

 

Lets see if I can do better this week.

Entry filed under: Domestrivia.

Fair Enough Sweet Pea

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. highwaycottage  |  April 13, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Well you’re not alone. I fell off this week too. I sent away for a Springbug for the little one, and his birthday’s not even for another four months.

    Reply
  • 2. domesticallyblissed  |  April 13, 2008 at 9:33 am

    LOL Highway Cottage – so glad i’m not the only one!

    Reply
  • 3. renaissancemama  |  April 13, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    I was doing something called Compacting which is the same thing really- I wasn’t supposed to buy anything, but in my mind… somehow I always justified buying handmade items 😉

    Reply
  • 4. henitsirk  |  April 13, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I’ll rationalize a little more for you: If you got the spirit of the challenge, which it seems you did, then taking advantage of opportunities is OK. You’re not going out buying frivolously.

    Reply
  • 5. babyamore  |  April 18, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    all good excuses …but at least they are considered purchases and not impulse buys.
    I bought school shoes for my big footed teen and a new kettle (cannot live without my cup of decaf tea) .
    You inspired me …

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein



Categories

Favourites