Christmas carbon guilt

December 12, 2007 at 11:27 pm Leave a comment

Let me start by saying that I ADORE Christmas. I love the music, the decorations, I love Santa, I love the nativity, I love the parties, and I love the gifts.  I even love the busy malls when I can get a carpark.

But the crunchy eco-mama side of me pangs with guilt over the amount of rubbish that ends up in landfill. The wrapping paper, the cards, the packaging, and the rubbishy gifts we all end up with.

 So some of the things I am doing this year to try to ease my carbon-conscience:

 – I bought a reusable ‘twig’ tree from Trade-Aid

– I got a bunch of pohutukawa printed bandannas from Canteen to use as giftwrap (www.canteen.org.nz)

– I am buying recylable and/or consumable gifts where possible. So people are getting Lindt reindeer, bottles of alcohol, magazines (at least they are recyclable), and my home made mince pies.

I was going to buy a Freedom Farms ham this year but decided we actually wont need a ham with all the Christmas functions we are going to.

I’m sure there is so much more I could be doing – but that’s a start!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Christmas To-Do List Magical Parenting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


