Magical Parenting

December 14, 2007 at 2:03 am 1 comment

One of my favourite websites for ideas about parenting is www.magicalchildhood.com. It is full of wonderful ideas about how to create a magical childhood for your children, how to enjoy and treasure the time you have together.

 On the intro page Alicia Bayer writes “This site was born out of my desire to share ideas and celebrate the neat parents out there. In an age when kids are getting scoliosis from toting home such heavy backpacks and people are trying to teach their infants French, I thought it was high time there was a place that focused on plain old happy, goofy, silly, leisurely life for our children”

 As DD gets older, I have been thinking a lot about the kind of mother I want to be. Its easy for me to be so focussed on ‘doing’ that I forget to just ‘be’ with my darling little one,  and give her a plain old happy, goofy silly, leisurely life.  She who already seems so grown up to me, I want to suck every moment of joy out of this time.

 I feel very blessed that I have been able to extend my maternity leave and have more time at home with her than I though I would have. A friend I had lunch with today is pregnant, and financially will only be able to afford to take three months off, which is a real sadness for her. It really brought it home how lucky I am.

 So, inspired by this wonderful website, I’m off to fill a bowl full of water and rocks and play in the sunshine.

Entry filed under: Parenting.

Christmas carbon guilt It’s summer time and the meals are easy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ladonnamobile  |  December 14, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Thank you for sharing this darling site! I had never seen it before, but I certainly needed it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


