Much ado about meals …

January 6, 2008 at 9:15 am 2 comments

My whole adult life I’ve walked the line of being both extremely health conscious and a complete glutton. When my husband met me I was a vegetarian and could have posted endless recipes involving chick peas and lentils. Yet at the same time, I was (and am) a passionate foodie, devouring cookbooks and food magazines with gusto, spending spare hours and not-so-spare dollars in any deli, cafe or food market I can find.

My Jeckyll and Hyde approach to food means that I was never going to be laissez faire about my daughter’s die. Like most mothers, I want my daughter to love all kinds of food, and of course, I want her to diet to be healthy – to me that means a wide range of ‘whole’ or ‘natural’ foods, and as little processed food as possible.

This is a challenging given that I live in a country where the health service for under 5’s (Plunket) give out leaflets suggesting sweet biscuits, processed cheese slices, and luncheon sausage as suitable snacks for toddlers. Not suprisingly, I find it can be pretty lonely when you want to feed your child ‘real food’.

One of the benefits for me of La Leche League (LLL) is that the other mums are as focussed on whole foods and nutrition as I am, probably more. I come away from meetings feeling all virtuous and earth-mother-like, and inspired to rustle up delicious snacks of chick peas and organic veggies.

And yet, I dont always feel that my daughter’s diet lives up to my lofty goals – because of course my own diet doesn’t. Her favourite snack is a processed cheese slice, which her Dad doesn’t mind either. I can’t talk – God forbid I should have to face the day without my obligatory latte.

So trying to give DD a healthy, balanced diet, and to include her in family meals means that DH and I are taking a long hard look at what we eat. (Or I am, and DH is just rolling his eyes). Our vegetable intake has increased, and in particular spinach has begun to appear with what DH regards as alarming regularity.  We are making an effort to eat a lot more fish and grains, and to ‘snack’ healthily too, in the vain hope that our positive role modelling will rub off on darling daughter.

I’ll let you know how it goes … but just don’t expect me to give up my lattes!

Entry filed under: Domestrivia, Parenting.

Mothering instincts Camp mother

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  January 12, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Ahhh Plunket the down fall of our country? Well to me it does feel like a bit of a drag. They seem to give such advice that comes from out of the ark.
    My Mum brought me a book called “What should I feed my Baby” by Suzannah Olivier.
    Its great and as our Bub is not the greatest eater of anything some times DH and I have a wonderful “Starter” to our “Main” they are often that good. Its not veg but its great.
    All the best

    Reply
  • 2. domesticallyblissed  |  January 13, 2008 at 12:27 am

    Bit of a drag – love it! Don’t get me started on Plunket … I actually have a lovely Plunket nurse but the organisation drives me bananas, and they have so much influence … grrrr!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


