Works for me Wednesday – Toys!

January 16, 2008 at 3:59 am 1 comment

Well, Menu Planning Monday seemed to work pretty well so this time I’m trying out ‘Rocks in My Dryer” Works for me Wednesday. http://rocksinmydryer.typepad.com

 wfmw-toy-shelf.jpg

My dream house would be an ultra minimalist apartment with lots of glass, stainless steel and concrete. But with a little one I also want a welcoming, warm, child friendly family home – so I’ve had to  give up on my minimalist dream for now. But I still can’t stand mess, and toys can quickly spiral out of control.

Inspired by the gorgeous photos in “How to Raise an Amazing Child the Montessori Way’ by Tim Seldin, hubby built a great bookshelf for our living room, and we use it for darling daughters ‘everyday’ toys.  We also keep a few toys on the low shelves in her wardrobe, and then I have a couple of cardboard boxes that I put away with toys that are ‘out of rotation’. Every few weeks I move things around to keep things interesting for her.

 Even with this shelf system, darling daughter would have toys spread from one end of the house to the other. I try to use the Montessori idea of only having one toy (or group of toys if they go together) out at a time, and to put each toy away for her when she is finisehd. The idea, supposedly, is that she will see me do this and start to copy.

The first couple of months she just made heaps of mess and showed no signs of helping. The last couple of weeks she has started to put things back in boxes for me, so maybe that’s a sign that its working? 

But either way, this toy shelf works for me because its tidy, attractive and keeps her toys in really good condition.

Entry filed under: Domestrivia.

Menu Planning Monday There’s nothing wrong with AP that a little Supernanny can’t fix

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. planningqueen  |  January 16, 2008 at 5:02 am

    Thanks for reminding me about rotating the toys. I use this system myself with my children, but have to admit to have been doing it less with our number 4. That can be my task for this afternooon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


