Works for Me Wednesday – Hubby homecoming

January 30, 2008 at 3:18 am Leave a comment

I’m sure we have all read the 1950’s home economics instructions on how to prepare the home, yourself and your children. You know, the one that says to :

 ‘Prepare yourself. Take 15 minutes to rest so you will be refreshed when he arrives. Touch your make up , put a ribbon in your hair and be fresh looking”

 And goes on to say …

Clear away the clutter. Make one last trip through the main part of the house gathering up school books, toys paper etc … your husband will feel he has reached a haven of rest and order’

And suggests you ‘make him comfortable,  have him lean back in a comfortable chair ….. offer to take off his shoes’.

Now, don’t for a minute think that life is like that in our house. DH would probably love to come home, be brought a beer and watch the cricket while I take his shoes off and keep DD quiet. Of course, that’s just not the reality, and DH knows it!

But I don’t want evenings to be chaotic for any of us. So, I have a few little rituals for that time of the evening – when I know (or hope!) DH won’t be too far away.

I do try to have a cup of tea and something to eat for DD and myself about 4pm to revive us both and see us through to dinner.  I do have a quick general tidy up through the house. And I do tidy my hair and clean my teeth (I love clean teeth – its a quirk). DD gets a good wipe down after her afternoon tea snack of course. Then I try to have some one on one focussed DD time – reading a book or playing on the swing – so that she is in a good frame of mind.

 Now, without wanting to sound unloving I don’t actually do this for DH’s benefit. I do it for my own. Evenings can be a bit fraught if they are disorganised. If you are tired, bedraggled, and the kids are grubby then it probably will quickly turn in to arsenic hour.

But, for now at least, my ‘hubby homecoming’ routines actually mean that 4-6pm is one of my favourite times of the day. It works for me! To see what works for other bloggy mums – go to http://rocksinmydryer.typepad.com/

Entry filed under: Domestrivia.

Toddler lunches To everything there is a season

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


