Menu Planning Monday

February 17, 2008 at 8:36 am 1 comment

meatloaf.jpg

Welcome to another week dear readers

The highlight of last week’s culinary efforts was meatloaf mania. I have taken a photo, but its hard to show meatloaf looking fabulous isn’t it. After Pak n Save ran out of the Blue Cod that I had planned, and with no other fish looking particularly tempting, I decided to try meatloaf.

The first lot wasn’t that successful, and had the consistency of a meat pate. It tasted nice but!

So last night I decided to try again and it was, she says modestly, fantastic.

Recipe:

500g beef mince

250g pork mince (please use free-range pork – think of the piggies!)

1 onion very finely chopped

2 slices of stale bread

1/4 cup chopped cooked spinach

1 carrot

at least 4 large cloves of garlic, minced

1 egg

1/3 cup gourmet barbeque sauce

a large handful of parsley and a good few sprigs of fresh thyme

Mix everything together really well in the food processor. Place in a lined loaf tin and bake for 50 minutes at 180 degrees fanbake. Serve with tomato sauce, mashed potato and market-fresh vegetables.

Anyway, on to this week:

Monday: I want to use up the rest of the veggies I bought at the market (I turned most of them in to pasta sauce for the freezer) so I’ll have sausages, sweetcorn, and a mix of steamed veggies.

Tuesday: Chill con carne, of course!

Wednesday: I have some yummy spice mixes that I got for Christmas, so I’m going to do a spicy chicken dish, with rice. I’ll report next week if it works.

Thursday: More chicken I think – I made a double batch of chicken with lemon and garlic and popped some in the freezer. Its great in sandwiches with salad, mayo, and some home made potato wedges on the side.

Have a great week everyone.

Entry filed under: Menu planning.

To market, to market Steiner Playgroup

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. planningqueen  |  February 17, 2008 at 9:31 am

    I will have to try your meat loaf recipe. I have not had much success making it into a very tasty meal to date. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


