Steiner Playgroup

February 19, 2008 at 7:12 am 1 comment

Today was our first morning at our Rudolph Steiner (Waldorf) Playgroup. After trying out a few fairly ho-hum “mainstream” playgroups – which were a bit like coffee group but with more toys – I was pinning a lot of hope on the Steiner alternative.

I’m so pleased to report that the playgroup was everything this wannabe earth mama had hoped for. The people couldnt have been nicer. The grounds were  like a magic forest. There was bread making and singing and gorgeous wooden toys and people wearing long floaty dresses and crystals. When Munchkin hurt her head there was rescue remedy and arnica. I wish I had photos to show you how beautiful it was.

I thought some of you might be interested to know what we actually ‘do’ at a Steiner/Waldorf playgroup – so I thought from time to time I will post a bit of detail about the morning.

This morning was cut short when Munchkin got walloped on the head with a wooden frying pan (there are drawbacks to wood, I bet plastic wouldn’t have hurt that much!) so I only have the first hour or so to share with you …

– As people arrived the children played freely with the various toys.

– Once every one was there the leader sat by the handwashing station and sang (to the tune of ‘here we go round the mulberry bush’) “children come and wash your hands, wash your hands, wash your hands, wash your hands. Children come and wash your hands, get ready for making bread’. The children lined up and washed their hands, and then sat down at the long table where each child had a small board with flour and a lump of wholemeal dough.

– Once every one was sitting we began to work the dough, still singing.  ‘This is the way we knead/shape/poke/stretch etc the dough … on a Tuesday morning’. Once this was finihsed the dough was taken away to be baked.

– It was now circle time and we sat on a large mat and sang songs, starting with a welcome song about the sun being up and the night going away, and then introductions, and then more songs including ‘5 little ducks went far away’ and a lovely gardening song that went along the lines of ‘I pick up my hoe and I go’. We sang some Maori songs, and lots of action songs like ‘heads, shoulders, knees and toes’.

– It was then ‘free play’ time where the children could play with the sandpit, the playstand and dolls, the wooden blocks and bits of tree trunk, a number of pushing and ride-on toys or run around in the woodsy area to the front of the play area.

It was at this point that we needed to leave, sadly, as I would have loved to stay for morning tea and story time at the end. But I’m going back tomorrow so I’ll fill you in!

Entry filed under: Steiner/Waldorf.

Menu Planning Monday Wonderful Waldorf morning

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. planningqueen  |  February 20, 2008 at 3:28 am

    Is is great to find a playgroup that meets your needs. My eldest son went to Montessori and so I then attended its playgroup with my second son, which was fantastic. We have since moved and an no longer make it to either, but having had these experiences, means that I can then replicate them in the home. I’ll look forward to hearing about some of your activities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


