Home-made toys for the craft-impaired

February 27, 2008 at 3:41 am 4 comments

Those that know me well know that I have very limited abilities with needle and thread. I failed sewing at school. As an adult I actually tried a dressmaking class once and at the end of the term I was still struggling to thread the machine. I was the only student in the class to come away having not finished a single item.

I deeply admire people like WaldorfMama, and would love to be able to create such beautiful things for Munchkin. But alas, things like that will be only be achieved with mummy’s Visa.

So, for the other mere mortals out there who shudder everytime someone says ‘just make it yourself’ here is my list of the home made toys that ‘work for me’.

A pretty tin takes the place of the usual saucepan for banging wooden spoons.

tin

Pegs … pegs … pegs

pegs

Bandannas and scarves

cloth

Look what you can do with a wooden box!

tunnel

And because at least my mother-in-law can knit! The woollen ball is a real favourite in our house.

Knit ball

For more Works for me Wednesdays this week visit Rocks in my Dryer

Entry filed under: Domestrivia, Menu planning.

Menu Planning – the Toddler version You are your child’s first teacher

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. highwaycottage  |  February 27, 2008 at 7:52 am

    I’m loving your blog. Not doing attachment parenting (bit late by number 4), but you have some good ideas, and a friend in into attachment parenting, so your blog is good for showing me things from her perspective. Keep up the good work. I love the box tunnel, we will be trying that tomorrow 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. domesticallyblissed  |  February 27, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Thanks so much Highway cottage – I appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment! Hope the tunnel works well for you! Gypsy xx

    Reply
  • 3. happyhousewife  |  February 27, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Great ideas, kids love that stuff more than toys from the store any day!

    Reply
  • 4. wearethatfamily  |  February 27, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    My toddler loves these kind of toys. She is very occupied with empty boxes and containers of all kinds. I’m going to try the wooden clothespins!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


