WFMW Backwards – what to do with a carnivorous hubby?

March 4, 2008 at 11:23 pm 3 comments

wfmwsmall.jpg 

WFMW is doing it backwards this week – instead of what works for us, Shannon is getting us to confess what isn’t working – so other bloggers can provide some help!

 My hubby loves meat. No meal is complete without it – especially dinner. When I met him, I was a vegetarian – not particularly strict but a veggie none the less. Somehow I now eat meat most nights with hubby.

Has anyone managed to introduce more meat-free meals and managed to keep marital harmony going???

Look forward to some suggestions!

Entry filed under: Domestrivia.

You are your child’s first teacher – the toddler years A MeMe all about Me Me Me

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ohamanda  |  March 5, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I’m not a vegetarian but honestly I’d prefer meatless meals at home. I just detest cooking meat!

    Maybe meatless pasta dishes would be best? Or Chinese? Something where you had lots of ingredients in it?

    I’m trying to think of our fave veggie meal…quesadillas, breakfast (do eggs count?)…hmmm….I guess we don’t eat as veggie as I thought…

    I hope you get some good advice. i’d love to hear more!

    Reply
  • 2. learningpatience  |  March 5, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Well, I wasn’t a vegetarian, but I was much more pro-veggie/anti-meat than my husband. He is coming around! Do you do a lot of beans? Some of the meals that helped him come around were soups and such with beans instead of meat in them. I also just sort of started decreasing the amount of meat in things. I didn’t mean to be deceptive, just frugal, and now we are down to very little meat in things that he used to like to be all meat – for instance pizza, calzones, pasta sauce, etc.

    I think I also season things more than I used to. Less meat can mean less flavor. You might want to try using good quality olive oil in savory dishes instead of vege oil, more garlic, more onions, more of whatever it is that you are using. 🙂

    Hope you find something there helpful!

    Reply
  • 3. beanland  |  March 6, 2008 at 3:29 am

    If you make really yummy meat-free meals… how can he complain? 🙂

    My husband and I both went vegetarian just over a year ago and though he was only willing to “try it for a little while”… I found some really great recipes and now we’re meat-free and loving it.

    You might start with some recipes that traditionally don’t contain meat anyway? Then go from there…

    Some ideas: soups (black bean, butternut squash, lentil, etc.) and curries (sweet potato and lentil, red lentil, chick pea, potato and spinach)

    I hope that helps! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


