Blessings

March 21, 2008 at 9:15 am 1 comment

I am still here … Well I predicted on Monday that it was going to be a rough week, but I had no idea how rough it was going to get. Tuesday morning I took the Munchkin to the doctor, and by Tuesday midday we were in the emergency department of Starship Children’s Hospital. She had a suspected abcess in her mouth, which could have required surgery, but thank goodness was able to be managed with 48 hours of IV antibiotics.   

Being in Starship was an incredibly humbling, terrifying and hopeful experience. There were some very very sick children there, but I personally always cry when I read about sick children so I am going to be kind and not share all the terrible things we saw and heard.  It struck me so clearly that we spend so much time as mothers worrying about ‘small stuff’, the washing, dinner, the state of the house, swimming lessons, getting children to eat vegetables.

Suddenly being around terribly sick children,  I realized how how trivial my worries are, and how much we would all sacrifice just to have a healthy, happy child.  Its wonderful to be home. I am so determined not to get sucked back in to my daily whinge-a-thon, to spend more time playing mindfully with Munchkin, and less time being stressed about the trivia of my daily life. Sadly, I’m sure by this time next week I’ll be nagging Hubby about putting his mug in the dishwasher, and wishing for five minutes of peace to write my blog. I guess that’s just reality. 

On a far more cheerful note, I  have finally our  first ‘Steiner’ doll. Inspired by Creative Play for Your Baby , I tried to make a ‘floor puppet’. I needed a fair bit of help from my mum, but here’s what it looks like.

    

Its SO much fun. I’m now working on a pompom chick and some wooden blocks. Will report in soon!

Entry filed under: Parenting. Tags: , .

Menu Planning Monday Sleep baby sleep

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. highwaycottage  |  March 23, 2008 at 3:53 am

    Wow, sorry to hear about your rough week. I hope things are getting better by the day. Your poor little Munchkin 😦

    (ps – I’m finding the new font very hard to read)

    Keep posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


