Menu Planning Monday

March 24, 2008 at 3:33 am 4 comments

mpm2.jpg 

Welcome to Monday.  Fingers crossed this is a great week, and that I can get life a little more sorted – I am feeling very much behind the 8 ball! We need to go back to the hospital on Tuesday for a check up so wish us luck. Other than that, we’ll both be catching up on paid work that got neglected last week, and trying to reclaim our house which is less than domestically blessed at the moment! 

 My cooking mojo that I found the other week has deserted me. I am seriously tempted to have nothing but spaghetti bolognaise all week – in fact, scratch that, I would really just like to have a week of toast for dinner. White toast, toasted until its just about to burn, with lashings of pure New Zealand butter. And a cup of tea.

 But, Hubby would starve, and I would probably end up raiding the biscuit tin every night and end up the size of a house.  

I can’t complain too much (just try to stop me!) – things are starting out well – I have been given a blog award – thank you so much PlanningQueen .    I will give some serious thought as to who to pass it on to.

Well, if I can’t have toast every night, then begrudgingly, this what we shall have:

Monday nightchill con carne which is pretty much Monday night standard fare! I can always motivate myself to feast upon a large bowl of this with mashed avocado, lashings of fatty sour cream and chilli sauce. Pure comfort food in my book.

Tuesday nighthome made potato wedges (cut your potatoes while they are raw, par boil for 10 minutes, then toss with a splodge of olive oil and some salt. Bake at about 200 degrees celcius for 40 minutes or so, turning once or twice during the cooking. I’ll serve them with some eye fillet steak with lots of veggies 

Wednesday   falafels with rice, pita breads, salad and hummus. One day I’ll get around to making my own hummus – I hear its very easy in a slow cooker.    

Thursday – I am on dinner duty Thursday for a lady in our coffee group who has just had a baby, very exciting. So I am making some calzones with lamb, caramelized onion and tomatoes which will be great for our dinner, and easy to transport too.  I use the breadmaker to make the calzone dough – its so easy. I will do up some salad in a small container on the side, and hopefully I’ll have time to make some desserts as well – just not sure what yet. 

Fridayspaghetti bolognaise and a very large glass (or 3!) of red wine to go with it. And I think I’ll make some garlic bread. I do this by making some dough in the breadmaker. Then, pop some garlic butter into the middle of the dough as you make the rolls, and bake for 30 minutes.

Have a truly wonderful week everyone, and for more inspiring meal ideas head over to http://orgjunkie.com 

Entry filed under: Menu planning.

Sleep baby sleep Why I choose ‘real’ toys

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. planningqueen  |  March 24, 2008 at 10:06 am

    I love how you have dinner duty for a new mum. Such a lovely community spirited thing to do. Also like the way you make your own garlic bread, I am going to give it a try.

    Your blog was well deserving of the award. Enjoy your week.

    Reply
  • 2. anemonecrafts  |  March 25, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    hey where did you get your bread maker? I am getting very interested having one 🙂

    your meals look very yummy

    luke and I are doing two nights a week of the toast thing and its pretty great. I am hoping to get my cooking mojo back soon but until then luke says “don’t worry about it’ he enjoys simplicity in its many forms. god bless him.

    Reply
  • 3. domesticallyblissed  |  March 26, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Thanks for your comments. I have a sunbeam bakehouse breadmaker – its 4 years ld now and I love it! Luke sounds very understanding!

    Reply
  • 4. babyamore  |  March 26, 2008 at 11:49 am

    it is hard sometimes to be organised but I found the menu plan worked well even if you have same favourites every week.
    I love to see what others are eating… steal ideas.
    My house is so not domestically blessed this week or even most days.
    Give your self a break and put your feet up for a day… I would if it was acceptable tie up my twins.

    I found a no bread maker bread recipe and I am trying to try it … at least last week i bought the yeast.

    My Little Drummer boys

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


