Buy Nothing Challenge

April 1, 2008 at 11:39 pm 1 comment

Buy Nothing Challenge - April 2008

A buy nothing challenge for the whole month is exactly what I need. My inner material girl has been sneaking out of late, and over the weekend I did a little too much splurging.

So when Crunchy Chicken announced that April would be the month of the buy nothing challenge I knew this was cosmic karma trying to tell me something. 

I am what you might call a ‘fritterer’ when it comes to money. I very rarely spend more than $20-$30 on anything, but I regularly spend less that than. TradeMe (New Zealand’s answer to Ebay) is particularly viscious for the budget, I seem to have an itchy bidding finger.

I kid myself that what I buy is OK – because its second hand or fair trade or made in New Zealand or out of natural materials. But its all still stuff, and its cluttering up my very small house all the same.

So for the month of April its a consumer freeze-out, except for food, petrol, utilities etc. And my daily cup of coffee – I’m sure that isn’t in the spirit of the challeng but a girls gotta function in the morning right? So, its only 30 days. It should be easy right – well lets see!

I plan to keep a note on what I WANT to buy, and then see come May what I still think I need. Already I have this divive pair of made-in-NZ-ttrousers for Munchkin on the list. http://www.littlemissandlittlemister.co.nz/show_item_detail.php?id=587

Aren’t they gorgeous? Lets see if I can get through the month – I’ll keep you posted.  

Entry filed under: eco stuff.

Menu Planning Monday Let it wait – Steiner schools and delayed academics

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. babyamore  |  April 4, 2008 at 11:58 am

    I am a semi buy nothing for April a few things I have to buy for birthday gifts otherwise nothing else.

    I think it is a good idea to make a list and see in a months time if you still want/need it.

    It will definitely be a challenge for most of us -especially when we see things for our children *sigh

    how can we resist ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


