Material Girl

April 4, 2008 at 9:20 am 4 comments

I hate to think of myself as materialistic, but I am a spender. A fritterer. A waster of money, time and energy finding new fripperty to spend my money on. 

Its been three days of enforced frugality on this buy nothing challenge, and I can’t say I’m enjoying it.

I am savouring the enjoyment of the last few things I bought prior to my decision to reign in my inner Material girl, and thought I would share with you some of my treasures.

 

Firstly, Munchkin’s first Waldorf doll. If I was more Steiner-fied I would have made it, but she would probably be 16 before she got one. Isn’t she beautiful?

PhotobucketThen at the craft markets I bought one of these cute pots, with what looks like a very resilient cactus planted in it. I have a terribly black thumb but it doesn’t stop me buying plants. I’m sure that’s some kind of abuse to plant-kind.

plant

And I have to share with you the illustrations with you from Gerda Muller’s Autumn. They are so lovely. It is a beautiful book to own.


autumn

I fear it is going to be a long month.

Entry filed under: Domestrivia.

Let it wait – Steiner schools and delayed academics Autumn

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. babyamore  |  April 4, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Hang in there 10% off already hahaha

    I wonder how many of us can do it .

    Reply
  • 2. planningqueen  |  April 4, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Congratulations on signing up. I love the cactus. It is probably the only type of indoor pot plant I could keep alive!

    Reply
  • 3. ncnikki  |  April 5, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Cute doll. I made dolls with the kids yesterday/today which kinda look Steiner-ish I think going on the ones we received for the kids birthdays when we used to go to playgroup there (not intending to, but they ended up that way lol) in a very amateurish way!
    http://myclassicslist.blogspot.com/2008/04/another-rainy-day.html

    Reply
  • 4. henitsirk  |  April 6, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Don’t you just love Gerda Muller’s books? Even though my kids are getting a bit old for board books, I can’t bear to part with these.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


