Autumn

April 6, 2008 at 9:11 am 5 comments

Summer is officially over here, with the end of daylight savings. I have to admit to being a complete grinch about daylight savings. I hate the idea of arbitrarily changing time. I hate feeling mildly jetlagged for a few days afterwards. I hate the hassle of changing the clocks around the house. And now I have a little one I hate trying to get to ‘spring forward’ or ‘fall back’.

Well, with that off my chest I thought I would share my confessions on the buy nothing challenge. With the weather suddenly colder, Munchkin’s wardrobe is badly equipped. I pulled down her winter clothes from last year, and thankfully one woolen cardigan and one woolen vest still fit.

Anemone

I bought this gorgeous top from Anenome prior to the challenge, but it still leaves us seriously short for cold days.

So under the ‘emergency’ instructions from Crunchy Chicken I am endeavouring to buy second hand. I bought one little top last night on TradeMe (Ebay NZ), and have a few other things on my watchlist. I think a few winter basics count as essentials surely!

On a completely different note, I also came across this wonderful looking ‘anthroposophical day nursery’. Anthromama mentioned it to me and it certainly looks like something extremely special. Sadly its about 6 hours away from us, but I found their website fascinating. To me, if you have to put your child into a daycare situation, this is the ideal. Biodynamic meals. Individual care for tiny ones. Plenty of space. A beautiful garden. Steiner’s indications in action. Of course, if you object to being told what nappies to buy and what bottles to use it might not be your cup of tea.

From their website “It is surely every child’s right to grow up in a garden filled with flowers and herbs, vegetables and fruits, where they feel the grass under their feet and are surrounded by the beauty of nature’s creations. The awe of a sunflower towering above them, or the sound of mother hen chortling to her bevy of chickens, are experiences that can only enhance and strengthen the sense of life as well as the child’s relationship to the natural world”

Wishing you all a wonderful week.

Entry filed under: Domestrivia, Steiner/Waldorf.

Material Girl Baby Stuff I Love

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. renaissancemama  |  April 6, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks for the kind words you left on my blog. This day nursery you linked to was fun to look at. I would love to do something similar out of my home someday when my own kids are grown up. There is nothing like that where I live. I would love to see a big resurgence of people using Waldorf philosophies.

    Reply
  • 2. knittingthewind  |  April 6, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    The weather has got suddenly colder, hasn’t it? But not so cold we can bring out our scrumptious cardies and boots yet. I loved the nursery, I almost sent my dd to something like that but decided I could save my money and do it for her at home. Sometimes, looking back, I wish I’d done it though.

    Reply
  • 3. anemonecrafts  |  April 9, 2008 at 12:13 am

    we did not realise it was you who bought this tunic!

    actually Lies made it, not me, but I have sent her a link to this post.

    thanks very much, we hope you like it

    -Kimberlee

    Reply
  • 4. domesticallyblissed  |  April 9, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Kimberlee the tunic is SO gorgeous – thanks Lies I love it.

    Reply
  • 5. henitsirk  |  April 11, 2008 at 12:22 am

    I hate daylight savings too!

    Another nice daycare method is Lifeways. I think it’s just in the US at this point, but it was started by two wonderful Waldorf kindergarten teachers that I know, and is a very practical take on daycare for infants through kindergarten, based on Waldorf. Essentially it was developed to address the need for pre-kindergarten or nursery care that was not being offered by Waldorf schools. (Because good Waldorf mamas stay home with their kids, right?) : ) My kids go to a Lifeways-style daycare, and it is wonderful for them to be in such a homelike environment with mixed ages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


