Sweet Pea

April 16, 2008 at 4:08 am 2 comments

Hat

Fortunately, given my own talents in this area, My mother in law is an exceptional knitter. She whipped this pilot cap up while watching the rugby, using Sweet Pea’s cancer fundraising pattern.

 

It reminds me a little bit of WaldorfMama’s gorgeous Waldorf Pilot Caps. WaldorfMama wrote a beautiful post on how important knitted hats are for little ones –

 

I feel very strongly about keeping babies and children warm.  young children do not have a fully developed sense for temperature (their own or that around them) so they are dependent on us to dress them appropriately.  And since the majority of warmth leaves via the head, this means keeping their head covered.  Rudolf Steiner, the founder of Waldorf education and it’s inherent philosophy, believed that one of the most critical gifts we can give a child is to ensure they have sufficient warmth by keeping their head covered…which ‘keeps the inner soul warm’

 

Sweet Pea’s designed this lovely pattern as a fundraiser when her 5 year old nephew was diagnosed with Leukamia. So, if you are looking for great cause and an excuse to do some knitting – head on over and pick up the pattern.

Entry filed under: Domestrivia, Steiner/Waldorf.

Off the wagon As life changes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. henitsirk  |  April 16, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    That looks like a great pattern, and I do like that purple! Every year now I whip up a quick crocheted hat for each of my kids (I crochet much faster than I knit). Usually some variation of a gnome hat. They are old enough to appreciate being warm and cozy, even if they don’t have a mature sense of it themselves, so I have no problems getting them to wear their hats.

    Reply
  • 2. babyamore  |  April 18, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    it looks lovely I wonder if I can con my mother into two ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Not everything that counts can be countedAnd not everything that can be counted counts. Albert Einstein

Recent Posts



Categories

Favourites


